Wark (Northumberland), day 2

Salmon & Eggs

After a breakfast of the same we packed the car for a day at Keilder Forest park. It was time to use the bikes which Archie and I had prepped and loaded onto the bike rack before departure.

Having looked online it was just a thirty minute drive to the Tower car park, we arrived shortly after ten. There were only two other vehicles in the car park; I mean I know it’s the week before Easter but this is definitely not the Lake District (lovely, but often packed with people). I was enjoying the isolation and lack of traffic.

I had planned an 11 mile route which I had seen on the website, but on arrival we could see the other side of the lake clearly, the sun was shining – and I thought – let’s do a lap! I hadn’t actually measured it, but I knew that we could stop at Keilder castle (loosely named) for food at about half way.

The cycle route was great but the north shore is very hilly – even more so than the south shore, and Eleanor, our youngest, did struggle a little. At one point, after sliding off into a banking, she was all for giving up (mild panic from yours truly as I realised how far from civilisation we were), but with some encouragement and paracetamol she got back in the saddle. When I reached the base of that hill to find Archie being looked after by a kind lady – as he had apparently come off too – I began to think it was one of those days, but he was fine, thankfully. My children cannot use gears or breaks as they think they know better! I can’t expect all of my advice to be listened to – practical experience is necessary!

Some great pork and apple sandwiches from the stall at Keilder were a superb restorative, and just over an hour later we were back on our way – under the viaduct and back onto the Lakeshore trail.

I confess that the last 6 miles were tough. I was beginning to regret my enthusiasm a little – but I was fortified by the knowledge that we may not return to the area for several years, if ever again with the kids. Ice-cream helped, and when we arrived back at the car I was really pleased with what we’d all achieved – 25 miles of undulating trail.

Oh return to Battlesteads we took turns in the spa bath which did the muscles a power of good. I’ll give myself some credit for that – the pre-booking research paid off.

Onwards.

Leave a comment